Public awards

No movement is successful unless it has ways to reward its stalwarts, and one of the better ways is to provide them with public recognition for their achievements. Though it does not have the budget or the publicity coverage that the entertainment industry has with its Oscars, the SRI industry does have its own awards.

There are two that are given out in the US each year - the Moskowitz Prize and the SRI Service Award.

Moskowitz Prize

"The Moskowitz Prize for excellence in social investment research is awarded annually by the Forum. Named after socially responsible investment pioneer Milt Moskowitz, this prize supports research into the diverse field of socially responsible investment including social screening, comparative performance, community development banking and direct investment.

THE $2,500 PRIZE:

Awarded to the author of the study judged to be most outstanding. The prize-winning study will also be published in Institutional Investor's The Journal of Investing. (ibid.)

The 1997 award went to Boston College management professors Sandra Waddock and Samuel Graves for their ground-breaking study linking 'excellent management reputations with socially responsible corporate behaviour'" (ibid.)

SRI Service Award

"George Gay, CFP, President of First Affirmative Financial Network received the annual SRI Service Award at this year's conference. The award is given to the person most influential to the growth of responsible investing within the past year. Past winners have included Amy Domini, Co-Founder of Kinder, Lydenberg, Domini and Co., Inc.; Jerome Dodson, President and Founder of Parnassus Fund; Alisa Gravitz, Executive Director of Co-op America; and Tim Smith, Executive Director of the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR)."

[site no longer available]

previous page buttontop of page button

table of contents

home page of Rory O'Brien

Maintained by Rory O'Brien
Last update of this page September 12, 2000